DIY: Turn a Corkboard into a Chalkboard!

Image

Anybody else have an old corkboard lying around? Maybe its got some tears in it, dirty, old? Yeah. I had one of those too. So, if you can’t tell, I’m pretty obsessed with chalkboarding everything. I think its genius!!!! So as I was decorating my apartment, I decided I wanted a big ole chalkboard right in the middle of my hallway for us to write on! So instead of buying one, I decided I was going to find a way to turn my old, torn up corkboard into one!

WHAT YOU NEED:

  • A corkboard
  • Chalboard Paint
  • Foam Brushes
  • Putty Knife, Actual Knife, Anything really that you can scrape with
  • Chalk

1: First, what you want to do is lay  your corkboard on the ground and check it to see if there are any holes in the corkboard where you can see through to the bottom layer. If there are, this is where you will start the next step. If not, start at an edge or a corner.

2: Use your putty knife or scraping tool and dig into the cork layer. Under the cork is a smooth, hard surface that should be some kind of a brown color and have small little TINY TINY holes in it. Dig your scraping tool through the cork until you hit that layer. Then begin to scrape under the cork layer and across the top of the bottom layer. DON’T DIG DOWN after you’ve already gotten through the cork. You’ll just make holes if you do that and it won’t turn out quite as well.

3: Ya’ll, I won’t lie. This kind of took me awhile, but it was worth it for the finished product. But what you have to do is go through and scrape off the cork bit by bit. There will be parts where huge pieces will come off together, so it isn’t as bad as it sounds really!!

4: After you have scraped off your cork, run your hand across the top to make sure its nice and smooth. If it isn’t, use your scraper to scrape off any excess cork.

5: Take your chalkboard paint and foam brushes, and paint across the surface where the cork used to be!

6: Let it dry. It might take you two coats, but chalkboard paint is usually pretty thick and covers most surfaces easily. I used one coat and just touched up parts with a second coat.

7: If you want, you can do what I did and use another color of acrylic paint to paint the edges of your board!

8: ENJOY!! Chalk up your chalkboard!!!

Leave a Reply

